How to enable tracking for your emails


#1

Introduction to Helpmonks email tracking

Tracking, also known as Open Tracking, is a feature that lets you see if your recipients viewed your message. Once your recipient has viewed the message, we show the status on the listing page and within the conversation view.

How does tracking work

When you send an email, we embed a tiny invisible graphic in the bottom of your HTML email. When someone opens your email and views the images within it, that graphic is downloaded from our server, and it’s recorded as a view of your message. Automated replies, such as out-of-office messages, generally do not count as viewing.

As the tracking relies on a hidden image in your message, only people who view your email as HTML will count towards tracking. In addition, tracking only works if your recipient allows to display images. Recipients that have chosen to not display images, cannot be tracked.

How to enable tracking

Tracking can be enabled for all your mailboxes with a general setting. Additionally, each mailbox can enable or disable the tracking feature within the mailbox settings.

To enable tracking for all your mailboxes go to the “Administration” and then click on “General Configuration” in the left menu. You will then have the option to enable tracking under the “General” tab.

Individual mailbox settings can override the general one. You can enable/disable tracking within the “Mailbox Settings”. The options is available in the “General” tab.

Please note, that mailbox settings will always override the system wide setting.

Tracking information within Helpmonks

When someone has seen your message, Helpmonks automatically records this and shows you the tracking status on the listing page…

… within the email conversation…

… or if you have desktop notifications enabled also in real-time when the recipient views the message.

Questions?

If you have any questions please feel free to leave a comment here.


New: Open Tracking - See if your recipients have opened your email